Monday, October 26, 2009

Message from the President

To the Membership, Prospective Members and Partners of the Coalition of Arizona Bicyclists,

Recently, the Coalition of Arizona Bicyclists held board of directors and officer elections. During that process, I was elected your CAzB president, which I consider both an honor and a challenge the rest of this message

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Memorial Ride for Safety XII, Oct 24

The 2009 theme is Safety and Share the Road. Join The Coalition of Arizona Bicyclists and Phoenix Metro Bicycle Club for this great ride. The routes are 100 K and 35 miles through Carefree and scenic vistas of Tonto National Forest and Pinnacle Peak.
The ride will be held October 24, 2009.

(Pre-reg now closed...)

Monday, October 12, 2009

Ride of Honor: Nov 7

The “Ride of Honor” in Mesa is a free, family-friendly educational event including a non-competitive 11-mile ride as a visual memorial to injured and killed cyclists. More info at the Not One More Foundation.

Tour de Tempe: Oct 25

And the day after the Memorial Ride: the Tour de Tempe -- a free, non-competitive, community ride and event... more info here

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

New Board of Directors / Officers / Awards

Elections for the Board of Directors was held at our annual meeting September 21, 2009. We wish to thank all of those nominated.

The Coalition would like to express their deep gratitude to those Board members who are stepping down: Gail Hildebrant, Rich Rumer, Sharon and Radar Matt. Best wishes, and thanks for your years of effort on behalf of all Arizona cyclists!

Board Elections

The following incumbent members were re-elected to another two year term:
  • Gene Holmerud
  • Bob Jenson
  • Peter Mather
  • Charlie Sobczak
  • Alison Van Uum
And the following new members were elected to two year terms:
  • Bob Beane
  • Dennis Dempsey
  • Sheila Foraker
  • Mike Kitchen


The following individuals were recognized for a variety of contributions:
  • Bob Beane & Rich Rumer : Organizing and running the Memorial Ride for Safety
  • Lisa Cozetti : for publishing our newsletter, the Sprocketeer
  • Ed Beighe: Web
  • Sharon & Radar Matt: Education
  • Rita Walter: Outreach


The new board elected officers of the corporation at the executive meeting October 6, 2009
  • President: Bob Beane
  • Vice President: Dennis Dempsey
  • Vice President: Bob Jenson
  • Vice President: Gene Holmerud
  • Treasurer: Gail Hildebrant (acting)*
  • Secretary: Sheila Foraker
* will remain until position permanently filled.